Cosmic

The raddest thing in bike polo.

Reducing grip fatigue

6 Comments

Playing a lot of polo can often cause fatigue in the wrists, hands and fingers, especially during tournaments.

So to help reduce such physical problems, I recently made some changes to my bike set up and equipment.

With my mallet, I made the grip considerably fatter. This has instantly reduced tension and tiredness in my fingers, as my hand grip is no longer as tight.

Using a Paul Duplex lever with dual Motolites has had the same results too, as the pull action is a lot lighter vs other break set ups.

By moving to clipless pedals, my stationary balance control has improved and as a result the need to lean on my mallet for long periods has reduced. This means my mallet holding hand and wrist is not having to absorb the weight of my leaning body as often. Therefore, is not getting so tired.

And as of today, I have changed from using standard BMX grips to this new more ergonomic design by Vavert.

The unique shape allows for a larger surface area to rest the hand on, providing optimum comfort to key contact points and reducing the need to hold the bar so tight.

These simple changes are worth trying. And if fatigue is still an issue, there are plenty of sports performance wrist straps available to wear.

6 thoughts on “Reducing grip fatigue

  1. Yeah ergonomic grips are crucial, on the left hand anyway. they’re pricey, if you find symmetrical ones you can re-use the right hand one on the left after the first wears out.

  2. Pingback: Lancaster United Bike Polo » Reducing Grip Fatigue » Lancaster United Bike Polo

  3. What do you think of the ergo grip set up? Would you say these are better than Oury grips?

  4. For comfort, you can’t beat an ergonomic grip. Ergo are very good, but expensive. For price and function, go with Vavert, only 9.99 a set.

  5. I’ve just fitted the WTB ergo grips on my bike as my old ergo’s were slipping. Possibly best upgrade I ever made, after riding Alejandro’s ergo’s last year in Barcelona.

  6. Ive found raising the bar height above the saddle helped most, what is the difference between your saddle and bar heights?

What do you think?

