Cosmic

The raddest thing in bike polo.

A Moment in Time

3 Comments

I was just flicking through the Polo videos on Vimeo and in the archive pages the film Manual, by Brendan of Blunt films and Dead Rappers (not forgetting of course London’s legendary team Bad Polo – 2 x London League winners), popped up.

The last time I watched this film was when it screened at the BFF 2009, so I just loaded it up to rewatch now over breakfast.

For those who haven’t seen Polo Manual, it’s kinda of a guide to Polo as well as a short documentary about London’s community during the period of 2008 – 09.

I hadn’t started playing Polo when Brendan put the film together, but I was hanging out with many of the people in it, due to the fixed gear scene at the time. In fact, I started playing a few weeks before that last scene in the film where a bunch of London players are jumping up and down in front of a sun set (taken on route back from the legendary 1st Rouen tourney).

Without sounding soft, this film gives me goose bumps. Not only because Brendan beautifully captures the personality of the community and the game during it’s early days of discovery, but it also reminds me how things have changed (progressed) and all the amazing places, faces, times and personal achievements Polo has given me over the last 3 or so years – it’s felt like quite an emotional journey on reflection.

So if you have 10mins, sit down and load up Polo Manual full screen, it’s well worth a watch.

Doing things you love is a powerful drug.

polo manual from blunt films on Vimeo.

3 thoughts on “A Moment in Time

  1. Yeah love this! So good looking back and seeing how we played in comparison to now. All those crashes! I remember I’d just installed a rear brake at that point so was playin ‘fixed rear brake’. There’s a little bit of me there at 8:16 with the title ‘control’! I’d also fucked both wrists up doing a complete forward roll against BAD in the league. I was subbing for Malice!
    Things have developed so much since then and I’m so grateful to have been a part of it’s development in London.
    There’s a little bit in the vid where my mallet is on the ground and painted on each cap is a star and an eye. Cosmic in the making right there…

  2. Hi. You have no idea how the effect that made in people. I used to live in London back in 2007 working as a bike messenger for Pink couriers. Wen i saw Bike Polo for the first time, i found it amazing but unfortunately the next year i left London and came to São Paulo – Brazil, and couldn’t play with you guys but those scenes of fun i kept in my mind. In 2009 i started the Bike Polo in here and we have being playing ever since. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to meet some nice people those days. I will never forget it, and hopping to go back to London just to play with you guys.

    yours,

    Lefty Wag…

  3. great write up mat. Thanks mate. x

What do you think?

